Membership sale! Use promo code JOIN35 and save $7 (reg. $42). Sign up today! See if you qualify to join TDF.

An online theatre magazine

Read about NYC's best theatre and dance productions and watch video interviews with innovative artists

Translate Page

Lucille Lortel Award Winners 2019: Honoring Off-Broadway Theatre

Date: May 05, 2019


Facebook Twitter

On Sunday night, The Off-Broadway League presented the 34th annual Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway, and TDF was there! Not only were we tweeting from the event, which was hosted by Mike Birbiglia and included big names such as Jeff Daniels, Judith Light and Annaleigh Ashford as presenters, but our Executive Director, Victoria Bailey, gave a speech celebrating the vibrant and innovative Off-Broadway scene, declaring, "You are the lifeblood of it all." While only 30-odd productions open on Broadway each season, Off-Broadway boasts hundreds. It's where you'll find compelling and groundbreaking shows, and often future Tony winners. The last four Best Musical Award winners -- Fun Home, Hamilton, Dear Evan Hansen and The Band's Visit -- all started Off-Broadway at nonprofit theatres before transferring to Broadway, and this year, one Best Musical nominee and two Best Play nominees began Off-Broadway: Hadestown, Choir Boy and What the Constitution Means to Me.

Below are this season's Lortel Award winners, plus links to articles we wrote about them. How many did you see?

Outstanding Play
Pass Over by Antoinette Nwandu at Lincoln Center Theater/LCT3

Outstanding Musical
Rags Parkland Sings the Songs of the Future by Andrew R. Butler - Read our interview with creator and star Andrew R. Butler

Outstanding Revival
Carmen Jones at Classic Stage Company - Read our interview with director John Doyle

Outstanding Solo Show
Fleabag written and performed by Phoebe Waller-Bridge

Outstanding Director
Lee Sunday Evans for Dance Nation

Outstanding Choreographer
Rick and Jeff Kuperman for Alice By Heart

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Play
Juan Castano for Transfers

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Play
Quincy Tyler Bernstine for Marys Seacole

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play
Gabriel Ebert for Pass Over

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play
Crystal Lucas-Perry for Ain't No Mo'

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical
Steven Skybell for Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish - Read our interview with Steven Skybell

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Musical
Anika Noni Rose for Carmen Jones

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical
George Salazar for Be More Chill

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical
Soara-Joye Ross for Carmen Jones

Outstanding Scenic Design
Arnulfo Maldonado for Sugar In Our Wounds - Read our interview with Arnulfo Maldonado

Outstanding Costume Design
Tie: Montana Levi Blanco for The House That Will Not Stand and Paloma Young for Alice By Heart

Outstanding Lighting Design
Lap Chi Chu for Mlima's Tale

Outstanding Sound Design
Dan Moses Schreier for Carmen Jones

Outstanding Projection Design
Tal Yarden for Superhero

Outstanding Alternative Theatrical Experience
On Beckett at Irish Repertory Theatre - Read our interview with creator and star Bill Irwin

Honorary Awards
Outstanding Body of Work: Telsey + Company
Playwrights' Sidewalk Inductee: María Irene Fornés
Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway Award: Terry Byrne

Top image: David Aron Damane, Anika Noni Rose and Clifton Duncan in Carmen Jones. Photo by Joan Marcus.